top of page

Dino-Mite Tree

As mentioned, I somehow got mr. to agree to a dinosaur themed Christmas this year, and I was pretty excited. Today I'm showing off our dinosaur tree so you too can create a dino-mite Christmas if you so desire. I sort of love it, even if mr doesn't understand it AT ALL.

First up, here are the dinosaur diorama ornaments in action:

I had so many mini dinosaurs, I decided to spray paint them gold and put little eye screws on them - like I did when making the animal keychains and garland for Everett's baby shower.

I also had larger dinosaurs which I also screwed eye screws into and painted gold, but then I also gave them a healthy dose of gold glitter:

mr. hates glitter almost as much as he hates spray paint, so these are NOT his favorite.

As a family we painted dinosaur eggs (which were really just plain white plastic easter eggs). We used the marbleizing effect with water and nail polish and it worked pretty well.

We also used Ezra's dinosaurs to make fossils in clay. We mostly used their feet, but we did some spikes and tails, too. Then I spray painted them and screwed eye screws into them to hang them.

The rest of the tree just has matching balls and bead garlands. I also made a fun gold circle garland by laying down different gold washi tape on cardstock and then punching out different sized circles with punches, then sliding them onto some twine.

I really like how homey and handmade it all looks together.

Would you try out a dino-mite tree?

bottom of page