top of page

Guess Hooo's Here? A Baby Shower.

My brother and sister IL have adopted their second baby! It was a very short and unexpected situation, so we didn't have time to do a baby shower ahead of time. So, instead we threw together this owl themed "Guess hoooo's Here?" shower after the baby was born and placed with my brother's family.

My mom, sister and I did mostly everything DIY, with some help from one of Sarah's friends and her sister. I had a blast! Especially making things and setting up. (taking down is always a bummer.)

I cut out a ton of owls with my cricut - the first and last major project I did before my darn computer stopped running the software I need to do the cricut machine - cue tears!

I printed out the information, glue them on the owl belly, then folded the owl wings over it. Cute owl invites! I put them in kraft paper envelopes, stamped an owl on them and closed them up with washing tape in our chosen colors of brown, turquoise and orange.

In keeping with the woodland owl theme, I had branches, sticks, pinecones and wood slices everywhere as the majority of the decor. For the centerpieces, I made distressed bell jars with spray paint, then put branches in them. I made little owls out of cupcake liners and toilet paper tubes and glued them on the branches. Not too shabby!

I made a ton of giant confetti by punching circles out of scrapbook paper. I used the same paper for the invitations and confetti so it all matched.

I also made a bunch of pom pom garlands (it just seemed like the right thing to do for a fall themed shower), and a starburst wreath with paper straws and a G for Gemma. We used burlap for table runners and on the food table and chalkboard signs everywhere.

For the favors, I had a ton of baby food jars (thanks to Pip) and I spray painted the lids, then hand stamped thank you on cardstock, punched them out with a circle and glued them on top. I filled them with reeses pieces, because they were the right color AND they were chocolate, soooo...

I also made bookmarks with tags and washi tape, for those who didn't want the chocolate. (WEIRD).

The food was refreshment style, instead of a lunch. We had a trail mix bar, fruit in cups, cute little owl cupcakes that Sarah's friend made (they are adorable, aren't they?!), a veggie owl platter and cheese and crackers, water and lemon water.

We played a "Hoooo's Hoooo?" game where most of the guests brought in a baby photo and I clipped them up to a frame with a clothespin that was numbered, and everyone had to guess who each number was. It was fun trying to place everyone - some people still looked just like their baby photo! We also played the bingo style gift game - where you fill out the bingo board with what you think is in the presents and then check them off as they are opened, then win a prize for a bingo (horizontal or vertical).

We also had a "Make a onesie" station set up with iron on freezer paper and fabric paint. I had some precut designs people could use, or they could cut their own. Then I did the ironing so no one got burned. And then they just went to town painting. And right next to it we had a "Make a headband" station. I had felt shapes, buttons, fabric yo-yo's, flowers and all kinds of things set out to decorate headbands. People could glue or sew them on. I also had felt and fabric in case people wanted to make their own decorations. Some people were concerned that they weren't "creative enough" to do the activities, but by the end, they all loved what they'd created for Gemma!

I had so much fun putting this shower together. It almost makes me want to be a party planner full time, but that's crazy talk.

I am so excited to have another niece! Welcome home, Gem!

bottom of page