top of page

Mod Podge Stained Glass Tray

I'm thinking of changing my blog name.

It started with vases.  Then it moved to jars.  Then I did some more jars.  And it was like I couldn't stop.  I was mod podge stained glass obsessed.  

So I really like mod podge stained glass.  And then I thought, why limit this to vessels?  Couldn't I make like a...




Yeah.  A cool tray.  Like that.

So, here's what you need.

one clearance frame from walmart.  And it started out like this:



And you'll need this:

mod podge

food coloring

water

toothpick

spray paint

sandpaper

acrylic craft paint

paint brush

two wooden purse handles - old and beat up, from St. Vinny’s

Gorilla Glue Epoxy

plastic Spoon

clamps



Mix up your mod podge/water/food coloring solution. ( You want it to be runnier that normal mod podge, but not so runny it doesn't stick to the glass. You want it to drip off the end of your spoon, but look thicker than water. About 8-10 drops of food coloring does the trick)


Take the glass out of your frame and lay it on a well covered flat surface.  Then, drizzle or pour the mod podge solution around the glass.


Tip the glass around so the mod podge covers the whole glass.


Add some drops of food coloring here and there.


Take a toothpick and smear the food coloring around.


Add a few more drops of food coloring and tip the frame on its side (whichever way you want the design to run).


Fair warning.  At this point, your hands will look like this.  Awesome.


Now, clean the edges of your glass and make sure the other side is clean too.


Stick it in the oven on a baking sheet and cook it at 170^ for about an hour or so.  

And here is the result:



I was pretty stoked.

Now, spray paint your frame and handles.



If your handles are wider than your frame, place the handles under the frame on the short ends of the tray.  Using a pen, mark where the handles stick out from the tray.


Have your hubby cut them to size.  Or, you know, you could do it too.  I didn’t want to use the hand saw, I’m lazy like that.  We have GOT to get a saws-all. 

Now, take your handles and your frame out back and rough ‘em up.  OK, just kidding.  You don’t have to take them out back.  Just pull out your sandpaper.  (You should sand the edges, too, so the wood isn't rough where you cut it.)


DISCLAIMER: I don’t know what the heck I am doing when it comes to distressing.  I just followed the lead of several other crafty people out there.  So, it's not perfect.  

Sand away, paying special attention to corners and raised portions - the areas that would likely get all banged up if it were thrown around in the basement for 80 years or so.


Then, mix up a slightly darker color with your acrylic paints and dry brush it on the handles and the frame - especially the raised detail (if any).


Sand again.


Mix up an ivory/white color with acrylic paint and add water to dilute it, making kind of a glaze. 

Brush it on the handles, paying special attention to cracks, dents, holes, and blemishes.  After letting it sit for a bit, wipe it off with a cloth.


Do the same to the frame.


Once it dries, you’re finally ready to assemble it into a tray!  

Cut out some decorative paper to fit inside the frame - a note about color/pattern:  I wanted the glass to be the focal point.  I did not want the paper to compete in any way.  So I chose a neutral colored paper with a slight pattern and variance in color.  You could use whatever kind of paper suits your fancy!

Stick it in the frame and close it up.

Take the little stand part of the frame off.

Mix up your epoxy (beware, it is SMELLY.)

​​Using the plastic spoon, spread the epoxy on the part of the wooden handles that will attach to the back of the frame. 


Stick it on the frame 


and clamp it down in multiple places.


Now you just let it sit until the epoxy is completely cured.  Waiting overnight is the hardest part.

Take the clamps off, turn it over and voila!


A fun stained glass tray dressed in my favorite spray paint and yours - Krylon’s Ocean Breeze!



And no, I’m not really changing the name of my blog.  Obsessive Compulsive Crafting might be more accurate, but I’m not sure I’m ready to broadcast that everywhere yet.




(This post originally appeared on the blog “bugaboo, mini, mr & me.”  It has been reposted here with minor revisions per author - Kimberly Mueller -  consent.)

bottom of page