top of page

A Newborn Shoot - My Very First

I finally set out to take some "real" pictures of the new guy. I'd been collecting ideas about newborn shoots on pinterest for months. And while mine are definitely not professional (I totally should have ironed the blankets and sheets...) I think they turned out fairly well.

I don't think I need to warn you that there are too many photos in this post.

This particular shoot had its difficulties - mainly that this cutie just wanted to eat the whole time. So the process definitely took longer than you'd expect.

I'm definitely getting better with photography, although I know I have a lot to learn. For instance. How the heck do you get a newborn to move his hands "just so" so you can see his face??

These bear ears, though. I tell ya. I die.

A friend of mine made this adorable blazer and hat combo - along with a super cute and toasty swaddler (pictured later) and I am in love. Like almost as much as I'm in love with the kid.

Oma made the special little lamby, which I can foretell will be a much loved cuddly for a long while.

So fluffy and cuddly... I just want to squeeze him.

Getting all three in a good shot was NOT an easy task, mind you. But those cute smiles make up for it.

I love these toes.

The moving and posing of newborns is something I'm not really used to. And it's definitely a delicate balance of keeping the newborn happy vs. getting the squishy, adorable photo you want.

Tips for a newbie?

Honestly, I'm just glad he's finally here.

bottom of page