top of page

Back to School Shoot - 2015

As per tradition, we took the short drive over to Asylum Point, where I take the kids' photos every year at this time. I started the tradition the first year I had a child in school - so when bug was 4. Now he's 8! It's hard to believe.

I admit that this shoot was a challenge. I mean, I've said before that it's not easy to photograph my own kids... they seem a lot more compliant with other people. But I've got a 2 yr old who is, well, you know. A 2 yr old. He's got a mind of his own.

It makes shoots like these interesting, to say the least. You have to rethink what kinds of photos you want to capture... real life as opposed to perfect, isolated moments. Candid instead of posed, you know?

I have to remind myself constantly that I'm trying to take real photos of real people.

So I probably won't get smiles on demand from this kid. And that's ok. Look at that sweet face? He'll only be this little for a short time and then...

Well, then he'll be as big as his big brother.

Who, I might add, still has issues with smiling on demand. I'd rather catch them as they are naturally, though.

Like this sweet girl and her flowers. Ha!

I'm a tiny bit bummed because I forgot to take a whole bunch of our usual poses - like the ones with them leaning against the posts for a height comparison. But I'm glad I got the ones I got considering how challenging it was this time. Mr. was along helping me and even he was frustrated I think. I know that by the end the kids had just completely had it with me and the camera.

It can be a bit frustrating trying to get decent photos of them all together, but I'm glad that I try at least once a year.

I know I'll love looking back over the years and watching them change and grow... and of course missing the little-ness of them.

I think you can tell in my photos that I'm getting better with photography, but also that my editing has grown by leaps and bounds. Mr. got me lightroom for my birthday and you can tell that I've enjoyed learning to use it. It makes a huge difference I think.

bottom of page