top of page

A Spring-y Mantel

I like to pretend my giant piano against my BGW is a mantel. Mainly because I don't actually have a mantel in my house. And everyone needs some sort of mantelscape for the holidays, right? I mean, I think that's the general rule.

(Also, I can't get over how much better this wall looks with the pipe shelves, right??)

In any case, I dressed my mantel (cough cough) up nicely for Spring. Honestly, I was so glad to have spring slowly creeping up on us, well, I admit I may have jumped the gun a little. But winter here is hard, amiright?

I created what I like to call, a pop of gold spring mantel:

The main colors were pinks, blues, yellows and of course GREEN, but I had to throw in some glam with the gold.

I made several garlands and hung them all together in a fun group, because layering and texture - it's all the rage, right? I like to sound like I know what I'm talking about. But for real, though, texture in decorating is super important. I made the garlands out of brown kraft paper pennants which I splatter painted with watercolors and spelled "spring" in white letter stickers - then drew around the letters with a gold paint pen. I covered some white cardstock with spring-y washi tape (I'm obsessed, we all know this) and cut circles out. Then I cut out smaller plain white circles. I layered the white ones on top of the washi tape ones and drew the letters "happy" on them - then stuck some wood feathers I splatter painted on the ends. So the two garlands together spell out "happy spring". There is also a a garland of smaller paper and washi tape circles because, why not. I love paper and washi tape - it's honestly so versatile. Remember the white and gold garland I made for the dinosaur tree?

I think I was trying to go with a bird theme or something with the feathers on the garland, because there are eggs galore on this mantel. Gold eggs in little nests I made out of twigs and A LOT of hot glue.

Watercolor eggs that I made with art tissue (I should do a whole other post on that stuff, I love it!!)

And paper towel stamped eggs the kids and I painted with craft paint and, well, paper towels.

That isn't a real plant, because I kill real plants. Side note: do you like my framed hanging succulent garden?? I wish I'd thought to take photos as I made that, because I actually used power tools and stuff. I was pretty proud of myself. And I love the way it looks all spring-y and alive and fresh.

I also included that pretty yellow bird on the candlestick, and a little wooden birdcage I think is actually maybe a cricket cage?

I found the little mushrooms in the dollar spot at Target. I spray painted them gold and then drew the spots and lines with a white paint pen.

My little "pop of gold" spring mantel makes me all kinds of happy - with all the fun spring colors and handmade elements - a lot of which I did with the kids. (Pip LOVES to splatter paint, I learned). I may not do a good job decorating the mantel for every holiday, but when I do, I find it so bright and cheery.

bottom of page