top of page

Three Bears Porridge - A Tradition

For as long as I can remember, my mother has made 3 Bears Porridge on Thanksgiving morning. It is as much attached to the holiday as turkey, pumpkin pie, Macy's parade and football in my mind.

When I was young, my mom would make it with fruit cocktail. When I finally admitted to her that I thought warm grapes were gross, and the cherries were my favorite, she made it with only cherries and attached a note that said "little bear style." My mom's awesome.

When Justin and I married, I carried this tradition with me. I fed 3 Bears Porridge to his parents one Thanksgiving, and even they are hooked! My own children have never missed a Thanksgiving morning with 3 Bears Porridge. We've tried different versions - with frozen black cherries that I made into a sauce (very yummy), with homemade raspberry freezer jam (also yummy), with canned peaches (pretty good), and my ultimate favorite, WITH CHERRY PIE FILLING.

Yes, it's still breakfast even though it's much more like dessert.

This is a Mama bear secret. My mother made this porridge recipe up on her own, when she was a young newlywed. She ingeniously thought to whip the whites separately and fold them in to make the porridge super light and fluffy - it's the great secret to superior porridge.

So don't tell her I'm telling you, but here's the recipe.

Guess what. It's so easy and cheap to make you don't have to reserve it just for holidays either. I know, crazy, right? So go whip some up and you'll know why I love it so much. You will not regret it. I promise.

bottom of page