top of page

Farmhouse Style Address Sign


Wow, I need to wash my siding. But, I made an address sign to match my shutters! I really like how it ties together and how something so simple can add a ton of curb appeal.

It's super easy to make.

I distressed and stained two pieces of 1x4. They were cut down to about 20 inches. Of course, the length of your sign depends on how long your address numbers are. I made mine long enough for four numbers, plus two little side supports. The side supports are made from firing strips. I just cut them to the width of my two boards and them used my nail brad gun to nail them down on the sides. No picture of this, but it's pretty self explanatory when you see the finished picture.

I got my "antique brass" numbers at Menards. They're the kind that can be set into a board with pegs so they stand away from the board, giving dimension.

I wanted them flush with my board, though, so I used a bigger drill bit when I screwed the holes so that the whole peg would settle into the hole snug.

I put a little gorilla glue in each hole, just to be safe, then set my numbers in.

Then I just drilled holes through the cross pieces on the ends and through the siding on the garage, and used long black screws to secure the board to the garage. It could easily have hung with just one screw on each side, but as I wanted it to match the bolts on the shutters, I used two screws on each side.

And there you have it! Farmhouse style for my builder basic quad!

bottom of page